dahlia_moon: (batgirl!steph)
[personal profile] dahlia_moon
So there was a lot of catching up on movies. (Reviewed in the order they were watched.)

Morning Glory
I love Rachael McAdams and that's a guarantee that I'll like pretty much ANYTHING she's in and this movie is no exception. It was fantastic. I liked that it focused more on Rachel McAdams' character and not so much on the romance. I mean, there was SOME romance but it didn't take over the whole film. I hate the idea that a woman can't be successful and have a hot guy too. She (generic) can and this film delivers wonderfully on that.

Harrison Ford and Diane Keaton were awesome too.

Killers
Tom Selleck!

I like Katherine Heigl, I do, but this movie made ABSOLUTELY NO SENSE. It was trying to be a cool spy movie, and - granted - it did have some awesome action but I felt like it tried to be way too many things at once, like it wasn't satisfied just being a rom-com when just being a rom-com was all it needed to pass muster. Like, I have no idea what the father's role was exactly. Was he the target Spencer was supposed to kill in the beginning? How did he know that Spencer was a trained killer? What was Holbrook doing at the hotel?

Also, I think that's why the mother drinks so much, and is kinda a loopy-head (trying to be nice) - she's trying to cope with having probably found out a long time ago that her husband was a trained killer or working for the government as a trained killer or whatever the hell he did (see this movie confuses me so much because it felt like a mish-mash of stuff that never really went together or was explained properly. Although one particular scene did remind me of Hot Fuzz a little bit, where the whole town practically turns on Simon Peggs' main character - Ashton Kutcher's character even says at one point, "Isn't anyone not trying to kill me?" Which was one of the most memorable quotes).

I dunno. Maybe I didn't like the extreme violence, although what extreme violence was doing in a rom-com I have no idea.

I Hate Valentine's Day
Nia Vardalos and John Corbett!!! I love them. And I love that they reunited for this movie as the main romantic leads too. And yet this movie...still flopped? I mean I wanted to LOVE it so much but I couldn't. (Clearly, My Big Fat Greek Wedding will forever remain their best movie together.)

Um. I still haven't finished it yet though, TBQH. It's probably an average rom-com at best, and if you've seen one average rom-com, you've seen them all. It's an 89 minute film, and I only watched like 15 minutes of it. Ah. Maybe I'll come back to it someday and finish it.

From Prada to Nada
So, this is a modern adaptation of Jane Austen's Sense & Sensibility and while I haven't watched S&S yet (any versions - that's why I haven't watched it yet - SO MANY VERSIONS TO CHOOSE FROM WHERE DOES ONE START?). I loved this. It was AWESOME. And, well - just awesome is the only way to describe it really. I pretty much zipped through watching it when I woke up. I loved its pace and that it was a really simple story but not at all boring. I loved both of the sisters and each of the men the sisters hooked up at the end. I loved all the background characters (except Olivia and Lucy, but they weren't all that fleshed out in terms of characterization to begin with so I don't feel too bad about it).

JUST PERFECT.

(What I find kinda funny in a sad way is that Netflix has Iron Man 2 streaming, but they don't have the first Iron Man movie streaming. WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT? Who wants to see the second movie streaming before having seen the first one?)

Date: 2011-12-22 05:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sailorem.livejournal.com
I love Killers just for one of those movies that you don't have to think about and enjoy at face value, despite it not making sense. Also I looooove Ashton Kutcher but I can't stand Katherine Heigl. She does amazing chick flicks, yes, but I can't stand her. Ugh what a horrible combination.

I've been wanting to see From Prada to Nada for some time too! :D

Date: 2011-12-23 06:10 am (UTC)
ext_147337: (Default)
From: [identity profile] moon-destiny.livejournal.com
Hahahaha! I'm the opposite of you - I can't stand Ashton Kutcher, but I loooooovee Katherine Heigl. Ah well. They both do dumb movies possibly just for the money.

Date: 2011-12-22 03:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pencil-gal.livejournal.com
I love From Prada to Nada too!! :D As for S&S versions might I recommend going for the Hugh Grant, Emma Thompson, Alan Rickman and Kate Winslet movie first? That's probably my favourite :D

Date: 2011-12-23 06:11 am (UTC)
ext_147337: (Default)
From: [identity profile] moon-destiny.livejournal.com
the Alan Rickman version it is! (also, yay, Netflix has that version so that's good.)

Profile

dahlia_moon: (Default)
dahlia_moon

April 2022

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526 27282930

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios